Once Upon a Twitter

I read this article on the blog MaggieCakes this afternoon about how people are using technology in new ways to create stories which reminded me that ages and ages ago I had heard about Japanese 20 somethingers who would create whole NOVELS using cell phones. I found an article in the NY Times about it, which you can read here.

Why couldn’t we do this? Wouldn’t it be fabulous? I could write something, someone else could reply. It could be an exquisite corpse of the future! … except that we would know what the person before had written. Famous authors are doing it on the website read.gov

Here’s a description of an exquisite corpse:

An Exquisite Corpse is an old game in which people write a phrase on a sheet of paper, fold it over to conceal part of it and pass it on to the next player to do the same. The game ends when someone finishes the story, which is then read aloud.

My twitter name is @catherinekyle

About kitkat

I'm a teen services librarian in Chili (pronounced Chai-Lie) New York with a passion for engaging teens in the love of reading, libraries and having fun!
This entry was posted in random stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Once Upon a Twitter

  1. Maggie says:

    I play that game with my siblings and cousins and it’s hilarious. I guess I never really thought of it as a form of storytelling (and never knew that it had a name!), but it really is. When we play, we alternate between pictures and stories. Of course, none of us is a good artist, so this keeps it interesting.

Leave a Reply

