Speak

Wow. So I’m FINALLY (yes, I know, its been out a million years already) reading Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. I’m about halfway through, where you learn why her grades are dropping, why she hides, why she doesn’t talk… OMG. As a parent, I would hope that warning signals would go off in my head. Her personality has changed SO drastically. Does no one see this? As for her “friends”, if they were any kind of friends, they would know that she wouldn’t just call 911 at the party for no reason. ARGH. I hope things change for her. Otherwise, I’m just going to have to get into that book and open up a can of kick-butt on all those people. BTW, I love this book if not just for the eye opener it gave me that I need to keep an open heart and an open mind for all my friends and family, otherwise I could lose someone I love.

Here’s Laurie’s website

More importantly, if this has ever happened to you and you don’t know where to turn PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE talk to someone. Here’s the website for the Rape, Abuse and Incest Network. You are not alone and there is someone who will listen to you.

About RAINN:
The Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network is the nation’s largest anti-sexual assault organization. RAINN operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline at 1.800.656.HOPE and the National Sexual Assault Online Hotline at rainn.org, and publicizes the hotline’s free, confidential services; educates the public about sexual assault; and leads national efforts to prevent sexual assault, improve services to victims and ensure that rapists are brought to justice.

National Sexual Assault Hotline
Among its programs, RAINN created and operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline at 1.800.656.HOPE. This nationwide partnership of more than 1,100 local rape treatment hotlines provides victims of sexual assault with free, confidential services around the clock. The hotline helped 137,039 sexual assault victims in 2005 and has helped more than one million since it began in 1994.

About kitkat

I'm a teen services librarian in Chili (pronounced Chai-Lie) New York with a passion for engaging teens in the love of reading, libraries and having fun!
This entry was posted in interesting books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

