If I Stay

If I stay
by Gayle Forman

OMG! I cannot recommend this book enough! This was a beautiful and heart-wrenching book! I had to read it all in one sitting because I couldn’t put it down. The family, who all love each other SO much and  appreciate each other and never have a bad word to say about each other… well you can see where this is going. A tractor trailer plows into them, killing everyone but Mia, the main character. Mia is in ICU, but is viewing everything from outside her body. So she sees how her family, friends and boyfriend are reacting to everything. Even though she knows everyone loves her, she’s trying to decide if life without her family is worth it, hence, “should I stay”. This is a beautiful beautiful book. Its really sad (so prepare to have lots of kleenex) but I just couldn’t stop reading it. The characters were so well written. They had their flaws, sure, but they were real people, not stereotypes or caricatures of people. In my mind these were real people. I could imagine chatting with these people in a coffee shop or stopping at a record store to look at vinyl. Eating dinner on a Sunday or playing card games with them on a Friday. I think that this is a book that will stay with me for a while.

About kitkat

I'm a teen services librarian in Chili (pronounced Chai-Lie) New York with a passion for engaging teens in the love of reading, libraries and having fun!
This entry was posted in interesting books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

