Shug by Jenny Han

Shug
by Jenny Han
YA FICTION HAN

Annemarie Wilcox, or Shug as her family calls her, is beginning to think there’s nothing worse than being twelve. She’s too tall, too freckled, and way too flat-chested. Shug is sure that there’s not one good or amazing thing about her. And now she has to start junior high, where the friends she counts most dear aren’t acting so dear anymore — especially Mark, the boy she’s known her whole life through. Life is growing up all around her, and all Shug wants is for things to be like they used to be. How is a person supposed to prepare for what happens tomorrow when there’s just no figuring out today?

I haven’t read this book yet, however the teens at the Evans Branch of the Irondequoit Public Library have and they loved it soooo much that they created their own book trailer for it!

Shug Book Trailer by the teens at the Evans Branch of the Irondequoit Public Library

Jenny Han is another one of the fabulous authors that you could meet at the Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival.

Five Fun Facts about Jenny:
1. I am allergic to nickel–meaning I can’t wear most any kind of jewelry unless it is very pure. I have to cover my jean buttons with bandaids, and I can’t wear earrings. Ever. It is the bane of my existance, because my whole life, I wanted to wear dangly earrings.

2. My favorite foods are cupcakes and anything mini–mini hamburgers, mini sodas…

3. I have a dog named Jack. He lives in Virginia with my parents.

4. I collect pretty stationery.

5. When I start a book, I am physically incapable of putting it down. I must finish it in one sitting or I cannot bear it!

About kitkat

I'm a teen services librarian in Chili (pronounced Chai-Lie) New York with a passion for engaging teens in the love of reading, libraries and having fun!
This entry was posted in interesting books, programs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

