Sweethearts by Sara Zarr

Sweethearts
by Sara Zarr
NEW YA FICTION ZARR

The author’s name is Sara Zarr and she’ll be one of our Teen Book Festival authors this year. Here’s her website.

Here are five fun facts about Sara:
1. I started college as an English major then switched because I hated analyzing literature.
2. I wrote three books before I got published – Story of a Girl was my fourth.
3. My friends generally think I have great taste in music, but I secretly love country radio.
4. I’m scared of pretty much everything that is considered fun: roller coasters, skiing, driving fast, public dancing.
5. Unlike virtually everyone I know between the ages of 25 and 35, I’ve never seen the movie GOONIES.

My opinions on this book:
I found this book to be really neat. I listened to it in my car and a couple of times I just sat in my car because I couldn’t stop listening.
I like when teens who are outcasts are still portrayed in a good light and those who terrorize them are seen as they should be. Mean. I wasn’t exactly very popular in throughout various points in elementary school and all of junior high and it wasn’t until later in high school when I came into my own and found my core group of friends.
Seeing Jennifer and the absolute TORMENT her classmates put her through is horrible to watch. I can’t believe people feel okay treating others like that.

Here’s a little bit about the book as described by Goodreads:
As children, Jennifer Harris and Cameron Quick were both social outcasts. They were also one another’s only friend. So when Cameron disappears without warning, Jennifer thinks she’s lost the only person who will ever understand her. Now in high school, Jennifer has been transformed. Known as Jenna, she’s popular, happy, and dating, everything “Jennifer” couldn’t be—but she still can’t shake the memory of her long-lost friend. When Cameron suddenly reappears, they are both confronted with memories of their shared past and the drastically different paths their lives have taken. Sweethearts is a story about the power of memory, the bond of friendship, and the quiet resilience of our childhood hearts.

About kitkat

I'm a teen services librarian in Chili (pronounced Chai-Lie) New York with a passion for engaging teens in the love of reading, libraries and having fun!
This entry was posted in Holidays & Special Chili Events, interesting books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

