Identical by Ellen Hopkins

I haven’t really talked too much about books that I’m reading because I do that in my Goodreads account, but I thought I should mention this book for two reasons:
1. Its REALLY intense
2. She’s one of the authors coming to TBF Live

Identical
by Ellen Hopkins

Sixteen-year-old identical twin daughters of a district court judge and a candidate for the United States House of Representatives, Kaeleigh and Raeanne Gardella desperately struggle with secrets that have already torn them and their family apart.

I’m about halfway through and jeeze is this intense. Written all in poems (DO NOT let that deter you) it tells the story of two twins that are in a downward spiral for very different, yet intertwined issues. I’ve had to stop reading a couple of times because these girls problems are so harsh and I keep thinking, “What would I do if these two were my friends, sisters or daughters?” … not that you would think of them as daughters, or that I’m old enough to have daughters in high school. 🙂 Still.

These girls seem to have it perfect. Perfect figures, perfect clothes, perfect house… yadda yadda yadda. Unfortunately for them, that’s where the perfect lives ends. Their parents have so many issues that they could open a newstand. These issues then bleed off onto their daughters and their parents are so selfish and introverted that they couldn’t care a bit what happens to their kids. I’ve gotten so mad at these hateful, disgusting parents that I’ve been tempted to throw the book at the wall. Thankfully, the book is a library book so I can’t do that or I would destroy the book and my living room wall.

This is a MUST read. Just be prepared to think. Be prepared to get mad and angry. Be prepared to ask questions. What would you do if you knew or thought you knew that this was happening to someone you cared about? Secrets are always bad and the get worse until they get so painful that they explode in the end.

About kitkat

I'm a teen services librarian in Chili (pronounced Chai-Lie) New York with a passion for engaging teens in the love of reading, libraries and having fun!
This entry was posted in interesting books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

