Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle

Ask a kid, I watched the movie The Last Unicorn over and over and over again. Little did I know that this movie had started its life as a book, which is oddly enough entitled The Last Unicorn! The premise is that the unicorn finds out that she might be the very last living unicorn in the world. Rather than stay safe and sound in her forest, she heads off in search for other unicorns or a reason why they all disappeared. The movie was great. The story was interesting and the art was gorgeously down by the Japanese, plus I loved unicorns and fantasy as a kid (and still do).

Then a couple of years ago I found out that the movie had actually started out as a book! I bought it for the teen collection at my old library and I kept planning to read it, but life gets crazy and you forget. Then, for Christmas my husband got me the book. That was it. I knew that I had to read the book… so I did. And you know what? It is true! The books are always better than the movie. I loved the movie, and I still do, but I absolutely adored the book. This is one of those books that you can go back to if you’re feeling down and you want to curl up and read something. It has adventure and danger. Magic and daring. Romance and death. Everything that you could want and more.

The unicorn meets fascinating people along the way, and soon finds out that part of the reason people don’t think there are unicorns around anymore is because they just don’t believe in them anymore. They look at the unicorn and all they see is a horse. If you were in front of some kind of mystical creature, do you think you would recognize it? Do you believe, just as many do, that as you get older you lose the ability to see magic in things? Even if you don’t believe in magical things, this is a great book to consider… and guys don’t be afraid of the unicorn on the cover, there’s enough fighting and mayhem for everyone to enjoy.

About kitkat

I'm a teen services librarian in Chili (pronounced Chai-Lie) New York with a passion for engaging teens in the love of reading, libraries and having fun!
This entry was posted in interesting books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle

  1. eBookGuru says:

    I read this one when I was younger – it’s a great book.

Leave a Reply

